Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

Every time I make a new batch of freezer meals, this turkey chili makes the cut. I’ve been making this chili for years now. I love it for three reasons: it’s so easy, it’s super healthy (also low carb and grain free!), and it’s so flavorful. I’m not usually a huge fan of ground turkey, and I’d almost always rather have beef (or at least half beef, half turkey), but I don’t even think about beef when I eat this chili. It’s perfect as is, turkey and all.

I make this in one big batch for dinner, and then I freeze the rest (which is enough for two more dinners for my husband, my son, and myself). So this 10 minutes of prep turns into three meals for my family. The frozen bags of chili will be good in the freezer for over 3 months, and all you have to do is thaw overnight in the refrigerator and then warm the chili on the stove just before serving.

Tonight we ate this chili straight from my freezer stash after a long Tuesday at work with some steamed veggies and a cheese quesadilla to share. And can I tell you how nice it is to come home after a long day at work and get to actually hang out with my son who I missed all day instead of make dinner? I could never go back to life before freezer meals because it would essentially mean I don’t get to hang out with my son on weekdays, and that’s just not an option.

So, when I say 10 minutes of prep, that’s it.  Start by browning your turkey over medium high heat in a large pot on the stove. Season the turkey with salt and pepper and allow to cook until there is no longer any pink.
turkeychili2

While the turkey is on the stove, add all of the other ingredients to the slow cooker and stir to combine. When the turkey is finished, drain out all of the excess fat/juice from the pot, then add the turkey to the slow cooker with the other ingredients and stir again.

turkeychili3

Turn the slow cooker on low, and allow the chili to cook for 4-6 hours (though if you can’t get to it until later, it will be fine cooking for longer).

turkeychili5

Enjoy with whatever fixings you like! We normally top with a little shredded cheese and diced onion, and always serve with steamed vegetables on the side!

turkeychili4

Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

  • Servings: Large batch for Dinner + Freezer Meal
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients
3 lbs ground turkey
1 large white or yellow onion, diced
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1 can corn, rinsed and drained
1 7oz can green chilies
4 tbsp yellow mustard
3 tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 1/2 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp garlic salt
1 tbsp cumin
1 tbsp dried or fresh cilantro
Salt, pepper, red pepper flakes to taste
For serving (optional): shredded cheese, diced onions, steamed vegetables

Instructions:
1. Brown turkey over medium high heat in saucepan on the stove. Season with salt and pepper.
2. Add turkey along with all of the other ingredients to slow cooker pot. Stir until well combined.
3. Turn slow cooker on low and allow to cook for 4-6 hours. Serve directly from slow cooker topped with cheddar cheese, onions, and crackers.

**To freeze leftovers, allow turkey to cool before moving to a labeled freezer bag. Refrigerate over night, then move to freezer in the morning. Simply thaw and warm to serve. This will be good for 3 months.

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started